officer, appointed by the federal government and responsible for the administration of the Northwest Territories under the direction of the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. In practice, all major policy decisions are taken on the advice of this Council. The Commissioner can spend funds only to the extent voted by Council and all new revenue measures are subject to Council approval. Normally, the Commissioner obtains prior federal approval of proposed legislative and budgetary measures before submitting them to Council.

The Council of the Northwest Territories consists of ten elected and four appointed members and has a life of four years. It meets at least twice a year, usually for a period of three weeks, but more often if required. The Commissioner presides over Council sessions and the Deputy Commissioner sits as an appointed member. A Clerk of Council and a Legal Adviser

provide the main administrative assistance and debates are recorded verbatim.

The Northwest Territories Act gives the territorial Council authority to legislate in most provincial areas of government activity except for natural resources other than game; these are reserved to the federal government which alone can provide the necessary development funds. Legislation must receive three readings and have the assent of the Commissioner; he can reserve assent but this is a rare occurrence and the federal government may disallow any ordinance within one year. The Commissioner proposes most legislation but private members' Bills are allowed except for money matters which are the prerogative of the Commissioner. Besides draft legislation, the Council gives considerable time to policy papers in which the Commissioner asks for advice or seeks authority to take a particular course of action.

The Minister of Justice is the Attorney General of the Northwest Territories under the Criminal Code of Canada, with responsibility for the criminal administration of justice but not for civil matters, or the constitution or organization of the courts (see Chapter 3). Law

enforcement is provided by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Continuing federal responsibility. The Government Organization Act, 1966 charges the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development with responsibility for the development of the North and for the general co-ordination of federal activities in the area. Other federal government agencies, such as the Northern Health Service of the Department of National Health and Welfare and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, are responsible for health and police services with the territorial government sharing their costs. The Ministry of Transport operates mainline airports throughout the whole of the North; the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation provides special shortwave northern broadcasts and maintains a growing number of local stations in the Territories. Federal cost-shared national assistance programs, within the competence of the territorial government, are available to it on the same conditions as to the provinces.

There are about 7,000 Indians and 13,000 Eskimos in the Northwest Territories for whom the federal government has a special responsibility. Although there are no Indian reserves in the Territories, two treaties were entered into which established certain claims to land and certain other rights. As in the provinces, legislative authority with respect to Indians and lands reserved for Indians is vested exclusively in the federal government and this authority extends

to Eskimos.

Extensive financial assistance is given to the territorial government under special federal-territorial agreements, usually spanning a period of five years. These agreements serve both to allocate the financial responsibility of each government for the provision of services in the Territories and to fix the amount of the federal financial payments to the territorial government for the life of the agreement. At the present stage of development, territorial revenues fall far short of meeting the expenditures of the territorial government. Under the financial agreements, all taxes on personal and corporate incomes, corporation taxes and

succession duties are reserved to the federal government.

Excluding amortization of borrowings, the territorial government, during the year ended March 31, 1972, spent about \$70 million on operating accounts and about \$21 million on capital projects. Of these expenditures, approximately \$10 million was raised within the Territories through taxes, licences and liquor revenues and \$11.5 million was recovered from residents of the Territories for services supplied. A further \$4.5 million was recovered under federal shared-cost programs. The remainder was provided by the federal government as special operating grants and loans under the financial agreement and under the special arrangements relating to the move to the seat of government in Yellowknife.